Haley’s Quilt

My granddaughter graduates this spring and wanted a memory quilt.  Not much of a quilter, I calmly put foot in mouth and said “ok”!  I mean…..she’s my granddaughter and it’s really hard to turn her down.  Anyway, it ‘s made with a number of the T shirts that she amassed over her years of higher learning.  I cut the fronts of the T shirts off in about 12″ squares and sewed them together.  I also crocheted a butterfly and did a filet crochet with Class of 2011 and added to the top.  Now what?  I stacked the backing (I used a twin size sheet), fiber fill and quilt top together and pinned.  I then took the backing and folded it over to the front of the quilt and sewed that in place.  To create the “quilted” look, I tied all sections together using yarn, evenly spaced.  Not a professional quilt by any stretch of the imagination, but , I am pretty proud of this accomplishment!  I must remember to use a thimble if this type of project pops up again!  I have 7 more grandkids that will be graduating………….

Explore posts in the same categories: Crochet

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

