Alchemy

I’m working on my first Alchemy request and so far….so good.  I’m mid way through a doily pattern from 1918 and it has been a bit of a challenge!  There have been a few errors in the pattern, such as missing one row, and a stitch here and there, but fortunatey there is also a picture so I have been able to make the corrections.  It’s also written quite differently from patterns of today,  the stitch terms are different……a dc is written as a tr, a sc is written as a dc and so on.  It calls for 150 thread, but the old eyes being what they are, I’m working it in size 20.  The completed doily should measure to about 24 inches square.  It’s an unusual filet pattern.

I like the pattern so much, though that I may rewrite it in “modern” terms.  You may even find it posted here one day along with the completed picture.   It’s a lovely accent piece that would work well in vintage, shabby chic, eclectic and victorian styles and would be a great conversation piece if mixed in with modern.  You could also frame it!

There are a few other patterns included in the pages that I may also attempt…..a beautiful white cotton camisole with crochet lace trim and a gorgeous nightgown, also with crochet lace trim.  Both so very romantic!  Not at all like the usual oversize T-shirt that I usually wear for nightime.  Who knows, maybe I’ll start a new trend!

Explore posts in the same categories: Crochet, crochet patterns, Patterns

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

